Nordstrom Job Applicants in Washington State Stand to Get About $1,154 Each From an $834,375 Pay-Transparency Settlement, With Address Updates Due Dec. 2
No claim form exists for the Nordstrom pay-transparency settlement in Washington State, and the one task left for eligible job applicants is confirming an address or payment choice by Dec. 2. The $834,375 common fund resolves a King County lawsuit over job postings that allegedly left out pay and benefits information.
The official settlement website shows only the total. The figure of about $1,154 per person comes from ClaimDepot, a settlement-tracking site, and no payment goes out until a judge gives final approval at a hearing on Jan. 29, 2027.
Who Is in the Settlement Class
The case is Suhanna Jens v. Nordstrom, Inc. et al., Case No. 24-2-20400-8 SEA, in King County Superior Court in Washington, according to the official settlement website. The class covers applicants who, from Jan. 1, 2023 through July 26, 2025, applied for a Washington job opening with Nordstrom, Inc., Nordstrom International Limited or Nordstrom Restaurants, Inc., where the posting did not disclose the required wage or benefits information.
The website says the class is limited to postings identified in written discovery and to applicants within the United States. Eligibility therefore depends on which postings were identified in the case, not only on having applied.
The plaintiff claimed that the postings did not disclose the wage scale or salary range, or a general description of benefits. Nordstrom denies the claims, and the court has not ruled on the merits. A settlement of this kind resolves the lawsuit without a finding that the company broke the law.
The Law Behind the Lawsuit
Washington’s job-posting rule sits in RCW 49.58.110. It requires employers with 15 or more employees to disclose the wage scale or salary range in each posting, along with a general description of all benefits and other compensation offered.
The statute lets a prevailing applicant recover statutory damages of $100 to $5,000 per violation, plus attorneys’ fees and costs, in a private action filed within three years. The statute also provides a cure period for postings from July 27, 2025 to July 27, 2027: if an employer corrects a posting within five business days of written notice, no penalties or damages may be assessed.
The class period ends July 26, 2025, one day before that cure period begins. Postings from Jan. 1, 2023 through July 26, 2025 are the ones the settlement covers.
Where the $1,154 Estimate Comes From
The settlement website does not state a per-person payment. ClaimDepot, in a page updated Nov. 3, 2026, lists an estimated payment of $1,154.06 per eligible person and says members will receive an equal share of the net settlement. The page does not show the calculation or the number of class members, so the figure is an outside estimate and not a set amount.
The settlement’s FAQ states that eligible members who do not exclude themselves each receive an equal share of the class fund. The net fund is what remains after deductions. According to the settlement FAQ, class counsel will request $278,125 in attorneys’ fees plus up to $5,000 in costs and expenses, and the plaintiff will request a $20,000 service award. The court may award less.
The final amount per person will depend on how many class members are eligible and on what the court approves. Those two unknowns are why the official site gives the $834,375 total and nothing smaller.
Dec. 2 Is the Deadline to Confirm Where Payment Goes
Eligible applicants do not file a claim. Instead, the settlement website says class members should make any desired changes to their address or payment preference before Dec. 2, 2026, using the Login ID and PIN printed on the notice they were sent or the enclosed address form. The administrator, Simpluris, lists a P.O. Box in Santa Ana, California, the email address [email protected] and the phone number (888) 369-3780.
The payment selection page says members can update a payment method from a check to a digital payment method, and gives the same Dec. 2 deadline. A member without the Login ID and PIN can email the administrator with a full name and mailing address to request them.
The same Dec. 2 date applies to opt-outs and objections. Excluding oneself is the only option that keeps the right to sue Nordstrom over the same claims, and a person who wants to object must not exclude themselves. A member who objects may also ask the court for permission to speak at the final approval hearing.
Payments Come Only After Final Approval on Jan. 29, 2027
Judge Rania Rampersad issued a preliminary approval order on Oct. 5, 2026, according to the settlement website. The final approval hearing is Jan. 29, 2027, at 11:30 a.m. by Zoom.
The FAQ says that if the court approves the settlement, payments are issued after all appeals and other reviews, if any, are completed. Payments expire 180 days after issuance, and the FAQ says they will be characterized as non-wage damages reported on a 1099.
Whether a payment is issued, and in what amount, depends on the final approval decision, which has not been made.
Get stories like this by email. Sign up for The Parent Diaries Letter.
This article was produced with AI assistance and edited for accuracy against the sources linked above.
Image: Joe Mabel – CC BY-SA 4.0/Wikimedia Commons
